The Lerner-Scott Dissertation Prize was given for the first time in 1992
for the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history. The prize is
named for Gerda Lerner and Anne Firor Scott, both pioneers in women’s
history and past presidents of the Organization of American Historians.

A dissertation must be completed during the period July 1, 2008 through
June 30, 2009 to be eligible for the 2010 Lerner-Scott Dissertation Prize.
Each application must contain a letter of support from a faculty member at
the degree-granting institution, along with an abstract, table of contents
and sample chapter from the dissertation. Please also include email
addresses for both the applicant and the adviser, if available. One
complete copy of each entry must be received by each member of the prize
committee by October 1, 2009.  Finalists will be asked to submit a
complete copy of the dissertation at a later date.

The prize will be presented at the 2010 annual meeting of the OAH in
Washington, DC, April 7-10. One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2010
Lerner-Scott Dissertation Prize Entry, must be mailed directly to:

Linda Reed (Committee Chair)
Department of History
524 Agnes Arnold Hall
The University of Houston
4800 Calhoun Road
Houston, TX 77004

Heidi Ardizzone
517 West Main Street
Niles, MI 49120
[Affiliation: University of Notre Dame]

Alecia P. Long
Department of History
223-B Himes Hall
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s